rohit sharma captain news

BCCI announced on Wednesday that Rohit Sharma will be the captain of ODI and T20Is instead of Virat Kohli.

For the last few years, Rohit Sharma carried out the tremendous form in cricket while Virat Kohli did not build up catchy innings so far. Kohli was also unlucky for India in the world cup turnament. Maybe this is why BCCI made a decision to replace Virat Kohli as a captain In another important development, Ajinkya Rani was removed from the test vice captainship.

Rohit has also been named vice-captain of the Indian Test for the upcoming tournament in South Africa where India will play three tests. Virat Kohli already resigns as T20 captain in India from the t20 World Cup.

“BCCI top selection committees in India have also decided to appoint Rohit Sharma as the next leader of ODI and T20I,” Kohli said earlier “I’m very proud of the way the team played. Now I think it’s time for this team to move forward. It’s clear that Rohit is here and he is a catchy player to fans last few years.” The BCCI also announced an 18-man squad for the next three games against South Africa.

The test series, which starts on December 26, will be part of the new round of the ICC World Cup. The first test will be held on December 26-30 at the Centurion. The second test will take place in Johannesburg from 3 to 7 January 2022. The third test will be held in Cape Town from 11 to 15 January 2022. The ODI team for SA tournaments has not yet been announced.

Hanuma Vihari returns to the starting lineup and Ishant Sharma retains his place despite his poor form.

Full squad:-

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Mainak Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Rabinchandra Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj.

The players are not available for selection due to injuries: Ravindra Jadeja, Shabman Gill, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar.

Waiting players list:- Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *